Please visit our Discord server: https://discord.gg/grievance

New to guild...

Aennis
Member 3 years
Member 3 years

New to guild...

Post by Aennis » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:34 am

Hello everyone,
I'm new to guild, but not to gaming. I'm 42, divorced, w/ a lot of short scheduled meetings, and interests. My playtime may seem a bit sporadic, but when I do play, I try to be on for a while.

I started out w/ an Atari 2600, and have a younger brother who could beat Superman in under 4 minutes, when he was 6. Unfortunately, he grew out of games. My first PC was an Atari 800xl. Yes, while everyone else had Commodore 64's, I was using program cartridges, and floppy disks, to interact w/ a midi keyboard (when I wasn't playing Zaxxon or Centipede). It's a shame I haven't played anything in decades.

I took BASIC in high school, on an Apple iie, but had an IBM XT at home. Of course, I had a NES, and even had a Turbo Grafix 16, but haven't seen either of them for 15+ years.

I started by playing MUDs. I got my first taste of MMOs w/ UO, and EQ. My favorite one of all-time would have to be DAoC (for several reasons). Due to poor management, that is also my least favorite game of all-time.

I've played a few F2P games too. Lately, I've been staying away from anything that required hardcore commitments, since I got burnt out on that. I do play World of Tanks, once in a while, but not much else. I do have fun w/ my Anki Drive set (can't wait for Overdrive in September), when my neighbors, or friends show up. Although, I do spend time playing Heroes of Might & Magic, or Age of Wonders, via hotseat, when one friend comes by, but that isn't all that often.

Anyways, I currently have a budget system w/ a G19 keyboard. If you know of any customized apps I should have for it, let me know. I am familiar w/ VOIP programs too.